1 of 12 Summits: Mt. Binacayan x Wawa Dam Escapade

Processed with VSCO with a6 presetJanuary 15, 2017. It was indeed tiring to climb the top but the moment you reach the summit, you’ll realize it was all worth it! Hooray for my first-ever climb! 

Never did I plan to climb mountain tops in the previous years but then 2017 came and climbing summits became a hype and so I made this ultimate goal in mind: This 2017, I’m going to conquer 12 summits! So it’s going to be one summit per month and if my shoes aren’t tired enough, I’m gonna go for more!

Mt. Binacayan in Rodriguez, Rizal went first on my list. Of all the mountains I saw when I searched the web, deciding where to climb first is undeniably a hard one but I must say, it was the best choice for a first!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
College batchmates as my first trekking buddies!  From L to R: Ricar, Dani, Jay, myself, and Marcha

So it was a fine early Sunday morning when me and my college buddies met for our first trek ever.Of course, everyone was so stoked! The less than an hour UV Express ride from Cubao to Rizal hasn’t been that long. There was really never a dull moment when I’m with this bunch; Jay and Ricar never ran out of silly jokes and we just can’t help but laugh our ass out every time they speak.

So yeah, it was already 8 in the morning when we had our ascent. We were able to reach Rizal by 7:30am, as far as I can remember. We still have to pay for the environmental fees, freshen up for a bit, do some personal mantras in the CRs (lol), etc. And here we goooo!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
This was our guide taking a groufie with us.

One thing I admire in this climb is that we were so lucky we have a friendly and very supportive guide. He was really extra careful to us and he even offered to be our photographer for the whole trek! Such a nice gesture from Kuya!

Tadaaa! Handling my phone to Kuya was probably the best decision I made during our trek. Haha! The photos above are taken by him. He was actually documenting everything about our climb.

Another thing to admire about Mt. Binacayan is that there are a lot of stops where everyone can take endless photo ops! And to note, everything is picturesque. See more photos below.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
Our squad doing the ‘dab’ pose.

Processed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 preset

It took us almost 2-3 hours to reach the summit. I must say the trek isn’t that easy. The spiky rocks were an extra challenge as we go up to the summit. Nevertheless, all the pagod, pawis and paghihirap were all worth it. Know why? Let these photos do the talking:

Processed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCOProcessed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 preset

Aren’t these photos buwis buhay enough? But to be honest, after this climb, I was able to tell myself that I don’t have any acrophobia (fear of heights) pala. I was brave enough to pose on every edge of the rocks just to have amazing shots taken! Haha!

And of course, who’ll ever forget a group photo? So tadaaaa!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

It was already past 12 when we started our descent. And mind you, Kuya Guide’s still in the mood of taking a lot of snaps.

We still have a lot of time to wander when we reached the foot of Mt. Binacayan. So, albeit our tired feet, we still chose to go on a little adventure before going home. Our tour guide took us to Wawa Dam, perfect for our side trip!

We also took a quick dip in the river which was really fun!

Processed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 preset

After our little sidetrip, we decided to go back to the barangay hall to change our clothes before we head home. We also took some photos as keepsakes of this memorable trip.

Processed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 preset

Aaand that’s all for my first ever climb! Looking forward for more summits to reach! Aja!

Love and lights,

Abby ❤

Leave a Reply

