Sa£o, Duwa, Tu£o… £ukso!

I’ have always been proud of my roots and identity. I’ve always looked up to where I came from — its name and everything about it.

I consider our province, Catanduanes, as one of the most unique places in the country. Some people would always ask about it, “Catanduanes? Sain an? Alin an?” And before I could answer, they would finish the statement with “Ah, yung islang baragyuhon? (the island often visited by typhoons?For us Catandunganons, it isn’t a surprise at all to hear people say that. The island has always been on the news for years tagged as a place frequently visited by offensive typhoons, thus it was dubbed as “The Land of the Howling Winds.”

Well, that is acceptable.

But there is one thing that really drives me up the wall. I go red every time I hear someone say we are ‘bilot’ (tongue-twisted) where in fact, they are the ones who cannot pronounce our dialect. So I say, you people better replace that ‘bilot’ word with ‘extraordinary’ or ‘awesome’ because that is who we are. We can say the words with slur effortlessly but you can’t. Oh, come on! It’s a skill, baby!

See, this topic really puts me in black mood too quickly. Haha.

No, but seriously, I am just so proud of my province and our dialect that I can’t stand hearing foul words from people berating our place and dialect. So don’t dare. Haha. Just kidding! But yes, don’t try.

So to give you a taste of how unique our dialect is, here’s a piece I have written three years ago for our Philippine Literature class. Sorry, but I’m too lazy to put a translation for this. Maybe next time! Enjoy!

SA£O, DUWA, TU£O…£UKSO!

(A rawit-dawit of a Viracnon)

Magdidiit na ako marigis
Sakong mata kaya aduman sa huna ko pulis
Pwerte ang siwik ni pay mo
Dai man sana nanahawan sa tinampo.

Nagpadagos akong £akaw
Munan makahiling ako ning gatukaw.
Ining si tiyo, ha£ap asin pilay
“Piso para sa polio victim”, sambit niyang huway.

Ano na sanang hilak ko, mapaduman, mapauya
Sainya, ang mga tawo malampas sana
Ma£a ngani pag-agi asin pagtampad ko
Latang kapot niya hinu£ugan kong singko.

Nagpadagos ning lakaw si may mo
Hanggang makaabot sasakayan sa may Gaisano
Masakat pa sana ako, igwa nang nag-unat sa bado ko
“Ay kabayo!” Iyo an ang nasaw-od ko.

Su£-ot ang kamisetang ku£umos
Dinuho£ niya ang sampaguitang tu£ong bugkos
Kinua ang bayad, saka huminari tu£os
An sako lugod na ita£am, dai na nakadagos.

Maaban-aban, si Nay naman ang nagpasusuhay
Gusto ko man taohan, ako dai na man.
Sa sakuyang kabootan
An bulsa ko, hubas na man.

Mayad man ta ang jeep uminandar na
An sinakyan ko pasiring sa Daraga
Mga pasahero igwang mga sadi-sadiling agenda
Su iba gabutbot na nin pamasahe ninda.

Makaskas ang pada£agan ni Tiyo Drayber
Huna mo man professional car racer
Kaya pag-agi ning diit na minuto,
Ako palan halani na sa BU.

“Diyan sana tabi sa kanto.”
Saka ako puminara asin baba sa EM’s Barrio.
Sa£o…Duwa…Tu£o…£ukso!
Dangan si Tiyo huminarurot na utro.

Pwerte na tan’a ang £akaw £akaw ko
Kan sakuyang napagtanto
Hala! Sa kamot ko, uya pa so otso,
Ito pa£an su bayad ko, ringaw ko itao.

 

Leave a Reply

